I left the window open

And something came in

It creeped silently

And it had no grin

It had no shape

It had no eyes

Yet it came at me

With such a surprise

I tossed and turned

I could not sleep

It came closer

Without one peep

It crawled onto my bed

Then onto my leg

It crept so softly

I had no need to beg

Still journeying up

It made its way to my ear

I could hear is whisper

All of my greatest fear

It was upon me

And I could not think

For came in my window

And it had made the link

Paralyzed in a trance 

Pulled down by more than gravity

As it made its way

Inside of me

Mere moments had passed

Before I was no more than a shell 

For I had been pulled down

All the way to hell

Sunlight peeked through

When my mom came on in

Under the sheets it stayed

Trying to hide what’s within

Greeted her with a smile

Knowing she will never know

That inside my body

The darkness will only grow


Comments

Leave a comment